The Best Books: Award Winners of 2019


The Best Books of 2019


We all want to find our next great read, and one of the ways to seek inspiration is to take a look at the books which receive recognition through global awards. There is a fantastic range of awards, from the new and popular romance or crime genres, to the high brow literary accolades which have been recognising great writing for decades.

Whatever your genre, there is usually an award that will suit your tastes. We have gathered the ultimate list of the major English speaking awards across the globe, with entries from the USA, Australia, Canada and the UK.

You can check out the winners of the individual awards yourself, or sign up to MyVLF and receive a  guide of the winning books, FREE with your welcome email.

Join and get your FREE Guide NOW
  • The Agatha Awards

    The Agatha Awards honour the traditional mystery books that are typified by Agatha Christie. These are mysteries that contain no explicit sex, excessive gore or gratuitous violence and are not ‘hard-boiled’.

    The books are nominated and voted on by attendees of the Malice Domestic convention, an annual fan convention in Washington D.C.

  • The Australian Book Industry Awards   

    The Australian Book Industry awards celebrate the achievements of authors and publishers in bringing Australian books to readers.

  • The Booker Prize

    The Booker Prize is the leading literary award in the English speaking world, and has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over five decades. Each year, the prize is awarded to what is, in the opinion of the judges, the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK and Ireland.

    In 2019, the Booker was unusually awarded to two authors who shared the £50,000 prize.

  • The Costa Awards                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

    The Costa Book Awards are one of the UK’s most prestigious and popular book prizes. The awards were started in 1971 and choose the most enjoyable books of the year.

  • The Dagger Awards                                                                                                                                                                                                                             

    The Daggers are awarded by the Crime Writers Association, and their Dagger awards are said to celebrate the best in crime writing. They started in 1955 and have been awarding prizes for quality crime writing ever since.

  • The Edgars                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

    Edgars, are said to be the most prestigious awards in the mystery genre. Presented by the Mystery Writers of America.

  • Scotiabank Giller Prize     

    Canada’s most prestigious literary prize, awarded to a Canadian novel or book of short stories published in English. Founded in 1994, it is the largest cash prize for a book award in Canada and is now sponsored by Scotiabank.

  • The Hugo Awards  

    The Hugo Awards were first presented in 1953 and presented annually since 1955, They are science fiction’s most prestigious awards, voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention and honour both sci fi and fantasy novels.

  •  The Miles Franklin Award

    Australia’s most prestigious literary prize, first presented in 1957, and established through the will of My Brilliant Career author, Miles Franklin.

    The prize is awarded each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

  • The National Book Awards                                                                                                                                                                                                           

    The National Book Awards were established in 1950 to celebrate the best writing in America. Since 1989, they have been overseen by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization

  • The National Book Critics Circle Award                                                                                                                                                                               

    The National Book Critics Circle supports and encourages the art and craft of literary criticism. They have been presenting their annual awards since 1976.

  • Nobel Prize for Literature                                                                                                                                                                                                         

    Alfred Nobel had broad cultural interests. During his early youth, he developed his literary interests which lasted throughout his life. During the last years of his life, he tried his hand as an author and began writing fiction.

    Literature was the fourth prize area Nobel mentioned in his will. The Nobel Prize in Literature is awarded by The Swedish Academy, Stockholm, Sweden.

  • The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction     

    Joseph Pulitzer was a renowned American journalist and publisher in the late 19th century. In his 1904 will he left provision for the Pulitzer prizes as an incentive to excellence.

  • The RITAs                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

    Organised by the Romance Writers of America, The RITA—the highest award of distinction in romance fiction—recognizes excellence in published romance novels and novellas.

    Up to 2,000 romance novels are entered in the RITA competition in 13 different categories. After the first round of judging by published romance authors, entries that meet the qualifications to become a finalist then advance to the final round. Once RWA announces the RITA finalists,  judges evaluate and scores these novels to determine the RITA Award winners.

  • The Wellcome Book Prize                                                                                                                                                                                                               

    The Wellcome Book Prize was an annual award, open to new works of fiction or non-fiction. To be eligible for entry, a book had to have a central theme that engages with some aspect of medicine, health or illness. This covered many genres of writing – including crime, romance, popular science, sci fi and history.

    After 10 years, Wellcome has announced that the prize will be paused, with 2019 its last year for now.

  • The Women’s Prize for Fiction                                                                                                                                                                                                   

    The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award celebrating & honouring women’s fiction.

    Founded in 1996, the Prize was set up to celebrate originality, accessibility & excellence in writing by women and to connect world-class writers with readers everywhere

Join and get your FREE Guide

Our FREE guide of the award winners from 2019, also includes a double bonus list of the books chosen as the best of 2019 so far by two of the world’s biggest book retailers, Amazon and Barnes & Noble. This guide is given away in our welcome email to all new members of MyVLF, which is also totally FREE to join.