May Book News

MyVLF

Like many industries, publishing has been hit hard by Covid-19 and the lockdown. A lot of title launches have been postponed, but there are still plenty of great books being released in May for us to read.

New releases from Stephen King, ‘If it Bleeds’ and Lee Child, ‘Blue Moon’, have been topping the fiction charts, with Hilary Mantel’s ‘The Mirror and the Light’ and Sally Rooney’s ‘Normal People’ not far behind.

In the UK, David Walliams seems to do no wrong and his latest, with T Ross, ‘Slime’, was at the top of the UK’s top 50 books before being beaten by ‘Normal People’, as the BBC adaptation of the book boosted its sales. ‘Normal People’ is also doing well in the New York Times paperback trade fiction rankings.

John Grisham’s ‘Camino Winds’, is currently topping the New York Times combined print and ebook sales, despite not being released until May 28th. Stephen King is second. Both newcomers to the listing, while third place, ‘Little Fires Everywhere’ by Celeste Ng has spent 64 weeks on the list, and fourth place, ‘Where the Crawdads Sing’ by Delia Owens, has been placed for 86 weeks.

There’s  a new Lionel Shriver, Michael Connelly, Jenny Colgan and Phoebe Morgan, and here are some other new releases you may like.

Don’t forget, if you want to still be able to browse in your local book store when ‘normal’ life resumes, make sure you check out their online stores as many are delivering still. We include Amazon links for our global audience.

New Twilight series book

Exciting news for Twilight fans – don’t groan if you don’t like it as it’s sold over 10 million books so lots do – Midnight Sun, a new title in the series is due out on August 4th from Stephenie Meyer. The book will tell the love story from vampire, Edward Cullen’s point of view and is already doing well in pre-sales.

Midnight Sun

Non-fiction

Humankind is a ‘feel good’ non fiction read which seems to be hitting the right notes for today’s times.

Humankind makes a new argument: that it is realistic, as well as revolutionary, to assume that people are good. The instinct to cooperate rather than compete, trust rather than distrust, has an evolutionary basis going right back to the beginning of Homo sapiens. By thinking the worst of others, we bring out the worst in our politics and economics too.

In this major book, internationally bestselling author Rutger Bregman takes some of the world’s most famous studies and events and reframes them, providing a new perspective on the last 200,000 years of human history. From the real-life Lord of the Flies to the Blitz, a Siberian fox farm to an infamous New York murder, Stanley Milgram’s Yale shock machine to the Stanford prison experiment, Bregman shows how believing in human kindness and altruism can be a new way to think – and act as the foundation for achieving true change in our society.

Humankind

Historical

Mrs Boots of Pelham Street: A heartwarming and feel good historical novel perfect for fans of Mr Selfridge and Downton Abbey

Behind every family there’s a strong woman holding them together

As the wife of esteemed businessman, Jesse Boot, Florence’s position in society is much changed from her quiet life as a shopkeeper’s assistant.  Now a lady of means, Florence is expected to act in a way society demands.

And whilst Florence is more than happy to be a dutiful wife and a doting mother, as the Boots empire continues to grow, there is so much more to her than simply being Mama or dearest.   Helping the staff and customers who rely on her and the business gives Florence an added purpose.

Can she show society that a woman can have it all…?

Mrs Boots of Pelham Street

Domestic Thriller

Sunday Times Number One bestseller Adele Parks returns with a riveting look at the dark side of wealth in a gripping take on friendship, money and betrayal, and good luck gone bad in Just My Luck.

It’s the stuff dreams are made of – a lottery win so big, it changes everything.

For fifteen years, Lexi and Jake have played the same six numbers with their friends, the Pearsons and the Heathcotes. Over dinner parties, fish & chip suppers and summer barbecues, they’ve discussed the important stuff – the kids, marriages, jobs and houses – and they’ve laughed off their disappointment when they failed to win anything more than a tenner.

But then, one Saturday night, the unthinkable happens. There’s a rift in the group. Someone doesn’t tell the truth. And soon after, six numbers come up which change everything forever.

Lexi and Jake have a ticket worth £18 million. And their friends are determined to claim a share of it.

Just My Luck

Contemporary Fiction

Powerful, uplifting and full of hope, After The End by Clare Mackintosh, has been described as a powerful, uplifting book that’s full of hope.

Max and Pip are the strongest couple you know. Only now they’re facing the most important decision of their lives – and they don’t agree.

With the consequences of an impossible choice threatening to devastate them both, nothing will ever be the same again.

But anything can happen after the end . . .

After The End

Historical Romance

Ellen Alpsten’s Tsarina has been described as a making Game of Thrones look like a nursery rhyme.

Spring 1699: Illegitimate, destitute and strikingly beautiful, Marta has survived the brutal Russian winter in her remote Baltic village. Sold by her family into household labour at the age of fifteen, Marta survives by committing a crime that will force her to go on the run.

A world away, Russia’s young ruler, Tsar Peter I, passionate and iron-willed, has a vision for transforming the traditionalist Tsardom of Russia into a modern, Western empire. Countless lives will be lost in the process.

Falling prey to the Great Northern War, Marta cheats death at every turn, finding work as a washerwoman at a battle camp. One night at a celebration, she encounters Peter the Great. Relying on her wits and her formidable courage, and fuelled by ambition, desire and the sheer will to live, Marta will become Catherine I of Russia. But her rise to the top is ridden with peril; how long will she survive the machinations of Peter’s court, and more importantly, Peter himself?

Tsarina

Thriller

John Grisham Camino Winds

When Hurricane Leo threatens Florida’s Camino Island, the Governor is quick to issue an evacuation order. Most residents flee but a small group of diehards decide to ride it out. Amongst them is Bruce Cable, proprietor of Bay Books in downtown Santa Rosa.

The hurricane is devastating: homes and condos are levelled, hotels and storefronts ruined, streets flooded, and a dozen people are killed. One of the victims is Nelson Kerr, a friend of Bruce’s who wrote timely political thrillers. But evidence suggests that the storm wasn’t the cause of Nelson’s death – he had received several mysterious blows to the head.

Who would want Nelson dead? The local police are overwhelmed with the aftermath of the storm and in no condition to handle the case. Bruce begins to wonder if the shady characters in Nelson’s novels were more fact than fiction. And somewhere on Nelson’s computer is the manuscript of his new novel – could the key to the case be right there, in black and white? Bruce starts to look into it and what he finds between the lines is more shocking than any of Nelson’s plot twists – and far more dangerous.

Camino Winds

Horror

Stephen King If it Bleeds

A collection of four uniquely wonderful long stories, including a stand-alone sequel to the No. 1 bestseller THE OUTSIDER.

News people have a saying: ‘If it bleeds, it leads’. And a bomb at Albert Macready Middle School is guaranteed to lead any bulletin.

Holly Gibney of the Finders Keepers detective agency is working on the case of a missing dog – and on her own need to be more assertive – when she sees the footage on TV. But when she tunes in again, to the late-night report, she realises there is something not quite right about the correspondent who was first on the scene. So begins ‘If It Bleeds’, a stand-alone sequel to the No. 1 bestselling THE OUTSIDER featuring the incomparable Holly on her first solo case – and also the riveting title story in Stephen King’s brilliant new collection.

Dancing alongside are three more wonderful long stories from this ‘formidably versatile author’ (The Sunday Times) – ‘Mr Harrigan’s Phone’, ‘The Life of Chuck’ and ‘Rat’. All four display the richness of King’s storytelling with grace, humour, horror and breathtaking suspense. A fascinating Author’s Note gives us a wonderful insight into the origin of each story and the writer’s unparalleled imagination

If It Bleeds