Maggie OFarrell


Maggie O’Farrell is the Costa Novel Award winning author of eight novels and one memoir. Her latest is Hamnet, which tells the story of two extraordinary people. A love that draws them together. A loss that threatens to tear them apart.

Maggie’s other books include her Sunday Times number one bestselling memoir, I am, I am, I am. 

Her novel, The Hand that First Held Mine, won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, while This Must Be The Place and Instructions for a Heatwave, were both shortlisted for Award in 2016 and 2013, respectively.

Maggie lives in Edinburgh.

Maggie O’Farrell appears twice in the MyVLF Theatre. In the first session she discusses her novel, Hamnet, the inspiration that led her to write about Shakespeare’s son and how his tragic death impacted the family and inspired one of Shakespeare’s most celebrated plays.

Maggie is also in conversation with Damian Barr as part of the Big Book Weekend sessions. The pair chat about their writing lives, literary festivals and how they’re coping with the Covid lockdown. A transcript of this session is also available.

Maggie O’Farrell’s books:

The Distance Between Us

My Lover’s Lover

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox

After You’d Gone

The Hand That First Held Mine

Instructions for a Heatwave

This Must be the Place

I am I am I am (memoir)


Sign up for MyVLF